Trying to Make Meaning

These past few weeks I’ve been trying to recreate the fun, carefree days I enjoyed last summer. Going to the beach with friends, staying up until 4 a.m. to shamelessly sleep in ’til 2 the next day; you know, the usual. But it hasn’t worked. Half of my close friends have gone off to Korea, the remaining few are working full-time. And me, I’ve been tutoring a bit, interning a bit. Nothing too exciting (or time-consuming).

Seeing as I’m constantly fighting boredom, you would think that I would be chugging away at this blog. This is the summer to start my blog, I tell myself. This is the day I start writing posts, the day I go to the grocery store to pick up ingredients, the day I actually cook a meal, I tell myself. But that too hasn’t worked. Apparently, the allure of online shopping and Facebook are far too tempting for me to finally open this website and start writing.

Well, today is the day. I’ve managed to write this much, so why not shoot for more? These past couple of days, I’ve been thinking about what I would write about and in what kind of voice. But the fact is, I don’t know. So, here comes my attempt to define this blog and its framework…or at least, what I believe it will be.

Originally, I had planned to create a food blog. Seeing as I’ve named this baby “The Sunny Side-Up Kitchen,” it IS a food blog. But I promise, it will also be so much more. This blog will have recipes, photos of meals and desserts, but it will also be a journal, a place to keep my writings and thoughts. Maybe I’ll even give snippets of fashion inspiration and other girly things, who knows. All in all, this blog is an experiment. An experiment of thought, of expanding my writing, and of photography.

All of my photos will be taken with my iPhone as I don’t have a fancy DSLR, so please excuse the quality. All of the writing will be amateur writing and probably, not very good. Again, I’ll try my best.

But in the end, what I really want to say is, thank you for having the patience to watch me grow. Thank you for following The Sunny Side-Up Kitchen.

Leave a Reply

