Mushroom Marsala Redux with Savory Crepes

If you want savory, this is it. Sweet red onions shrunk down to slivers of caramelized goodness; velvety, earthy mushrooms cooked until buttery and soft; marry them together in creamy marsala sauce and tuck inside the fold of delicate crepe. Yes, indeed, that sounds like savory. It’s quite a mouthful, but it’s a delicious mouthful, created on a day when I couldn’t find anything decent in the fridge.

When I say nothing decent I mean: no meat, no bread, no cheese. What’s a girl to make without the basics? Okay, okay. I know there has to be something. I just really like my meat, bread and cheese.

Lucky for me, I happened upon the pleasant surprise of oyster, shiitake and baby bella mushrooms sitting inside the vegetable crisper, courtesy of a solo trip to the supermarket by my mom. And I thought what better way to cook these than make a marsala sauce?

Add some chicken and a sprinkle of chives, maybe a little parmesan, and you have a full meal in front of you. Unfortunately, I had no chicken, or chives or parmesan…so the photos are pretty bland (and not very well-taken, I apologize). But at least the recipe I’m giving you isn’t! Enjoy, and let me know what you think (this chicken marsala recipe is the first on the blog that I wrote up on my own).

Crepes (Recipe adapted from Alton Brown at Food Network)

*I suggest making these crepes when you’re halfway through with the chicken marsala, at step 5 or 6.

Servings: About three 12-inch diameter crepes

Ingredients:

1 egg
1/3 Cup Milk
1/4 Cup Water
1/2 Cup Flour
1 1/2 Tablespoon Butter
Pinch of Salt

Directions:

1. Blend all the ingredients together in a big bowl.

2. Let it rest for about 10 minutes so that the air bubbles in the batter subside.

3. Heat up a non-stick pan to medium heat.

4. Grease the pan with a little pat of butter.

5. Take a ladle and pour in one ladleful of batter. Swirl the loose batter around the pan or push it gently with the ladle to create the shape that you desire (a circle, duh).

6. When little bubbles start to form in the batter, it’s ready to flip. (Remember, the first one is always the mess up crepe. After the first messy one, I promise the rest should form easily.)

Chicken Marsala

Servings: 1 person

Ingredients:

1 Small Chicken Breast
2 Baby Bella Mushrooms, sliced
2 Shiitake Mushrooms, sliced
2 Oyster Mushrooms, sliced
1/4 Medium Red Onion, roughly chopped or sliced
1/4 Cup Marsala Wine (I used Holland House’s Marsala Cooking Wine – I definitely recommend it but with a warning: it’s pretty salty)
1-2 Tablespoons Milk or Heavy Cream (whatever you have on hand; I had milk)
Canola or Olive Oil
Salt and Pepper
1 Tablespoon Grated Parmesan
1 Tablespoon Fresh Chives, chopped

Directions:

1. Pour some canola or olive oil into a pot and cook the chicken breast until fully cooked. Season with salt and pepper.

2. Remove chicken onto a side plate and let rest at least 10 minutes. Then slice.

3. Add more oil into the pot and sautée the red onions until translucent. Scrape the bits left by the chicken into the onions.

4. Add the sliced mushrooms and sautée until they soften and reduce down in size. Season with salt and pepper.

5. When the mushrooms have developed some color, add the marsala wine. Let the wine reduce by half.

6. Add 1 tablespoon of milk or heavy cream. Taste and if you find the marsala too strong for you, add another tablespoon. I found 1 tbsp to be enough though.

7. Let simmer and thicken to the consistency you want. Remember you want enough sauce to coat the chicken and then some. Taste the sauce and if needed, season with salt and pepper.

8. Finish off with a pat of butter and mix until blended.

9. Add the sliced chicken and thoroughly coat the chicken with sauce.

10. Serve on top of or wrapped inside crepes with a sprinkle of grated parmesan and fresh chives.

Leave a Reply

