Fish Tacos with Cumin-Mint Mayo

There’s nothing simpler and more wonderful then a good taco. I still remember my first one, devoured at a New York street market, juicy carnitas drizzled with spicy salsa enfolded by a warm corn tortilla. Hot juices dripping down my chin and fingers, light heat spreading over my tongue; I greedily polished it off in three short bites. Two years later and the taste still lingers in my mouth, the memory still fresh. It was one of those perfect summer days. Warm and balmy, spent with a few friends browsing an outdoor market and eating homemade popsicles (I had hibiscus-berry) while shopping for cheap jewelry. The days spent doing nothing are always the best days.

I was watching Aarti Sequeira’s (Aarti Parti) old Youtube videos the other night and got hooked for hours. I mean literally until 5 a.m. When she did a demo on her fish tacos I knew I had to make them – they looked so easy! With most of the ingredients already in my kitchen and backyard, there was no excuse not to.

With coriander-chile-marinated white fish, tangy cabbage and an addicting cumin-mint mayo dressing, these tacos have an Indian flavor that’s irresistible. Having a few avocados on hand, I fixed up some quick guacamole as a side and the meal was complete. For someone who’s never made anything Indian-inspired, this dish feels really special and different from the normal pasta. I recommend you try it for new flavors you’ll never forget!

Fish Taco Recipe found here: Aarti Parti (if you want a video demonstration from her, here it is)

*I didn’t have ancho chile powder so I just used McCormick’s “Mexican Chile Powder.” Instead of garlic powder, I grated in a fresh garlic clove. You can just mince one in instead if you don’t have a grater.

*Instead of banana peppers, I served the tacos with diced tomatoes, diced red onion, chopped cilantro and the cabbage in the recipe. Seriously delicious!

Guacamole

Ingredients:

2 Avocados

Juice of 1 Lime (you can use less if you want)

1/2 Tomato, cubed

1/4 White Onion, diced

As much cilantro as desired (I was liberal)

Directions:

How to cube your avocados: Slice the avocados in half down the length of the avocados and twist them open. Take your knife and cleanly lodge it into the pit with one quick hack. Twist the knife to the side and the pit should slide right out. Then sliced a grid into the avocado with vertical and horizontal lines, and scoop out the flesh with a spoon into your guacamole bowl. You should have cubed avocado in no time! (Here’s a video demo)

1. Do this with one avocado first and mash up the cubes until smooth. Then cube in the second avocado and mash this in lightly to keep some of the chunky texture. It’s the combination of smooth and chunky that I really love in guacamole.

2. Then throw in the onions, tomatoes, lime juice and chopped cilantro and mix the whole thing together.

Voila! Easy as that! Some people forgo the onions and tomatoes, claiming to be guacamole purists. If you align with that crowd, go right ahead and follow that ingredient list. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

